Is Corn Flakes Gluten free?

Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free: The Truth about Corn Flakes

Are you a cereal lover? If so, we don’t blame you! After all, it’s the perfect way to start your day and get a healthy dose. But did you know that most traditional cereals are packed with hidden gluten and other additives? Even if they seem like they’re safe for people with dietary restrictions, that isn’t always the case. To help you find tasty and safe brands of regular cereal, we’ve compiled a list of the best gluten-free and corn flakes gluten free alternatives out there. Whether you prefer oatmeal or another type of cereal, these products are sure to please your palate!
People with gluten intolerance must be careful about what they eat. That’s because most products that contain wheat also contain gluten, and gluten has been linked to numerous medical conditions.
Cereal is one of the staples of a healthy diet. Even though many types of cereal are made from wheat, you can still find plenty of varieties that are free from this type of grain. In fact, you can find plenty of non-gluten versions of your favorite breakfast cereals. Some brands even produce special gluten-free versions of their traditional recipes.
However, there are a lot of different kinds of corn flakes on the market, and not all of them are suitable for people with gluten intolerance. If you need to avoid gluten when eating corn flakes, here’s how you can identify which brands are safe and which ones aren’t.

Which Corn Flakes are gluten free

Is Corn Flakes Gluten free?

The food industry must be careful when making foods that are gluten-free because there are people who have a medical condition or are gluten-sensitive. For example, the fourth ingredient of Kellogg’s Corn Flakes breakfast cereal, a breakfast staple year-round, is “malt flavoring.”
Unfortunately, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes contains gluten because of malt flavoring, which is derived from barley. Therefore, celiac disease or gluten intolerance patients should avoid it. Although corn flakes are inherently gluten-free, most standard corn flakes are flavored and sweetened with gluten. If you follow a gluten-free diet and eat corn, be sure to read all labels to ensure that your corn flakes are gluten-free.
Many cereal manufacturers frequently add gluten-containing ingredients during production, such as barley malt sweetener. Because of that, we’re going to examine a cereal category that you’ve probably been consuming for years without knowing it contains gluten.
We’ll examine corn flakes to determine if they are gluten-free, learn what they are made of, and identify some good brands to buy when we go shopping again.

What are Corn Flakes?

Flakes of white corn are roasted before being mixed with salt, sugar, nuts, colors, and flavoring to make this popular cold cereal. Various recipes are devised to suit the needs of different consumers. Manufacturing facilities require five stages: pre-drying, flaking, roasting, and chilling are hydrothermal treatment.
A roller miller is used to make the grits more flexible after they have been steamed and turned in a cooker to ensure even cooking. The grits are dried with a vertical air flow prior to rolling into flakes. Afterwards, they are cooled on a conveyor belt to finish the process. The corn flakes are roasted and then coated with extra ingredients to give them a crunchy texture. You can also find out more about how corn flakes are made here. Other flavors, such as almonds, chocolate, seasonings, fruit, and so on, are also offered.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the protein which is mostly available in wheat products. Wheat, barley, Kamut, spelled, farro, durum, bulgur, and semolina are all wheat products in which gluten acts as a “glue” to bind the grains together.
It is difficult to remove gluten from grains naturally containing it. There is no way to make a grain gluten-free if it contains gluten.

Are there gluten free Corn Flakes?

Even though corn flakes are gluten-free, many are not. Unfortunately, some contain gluten-based flavoring or sweeteners. It is also possible to become contaminated if made in a facility that prepares wheat-containing meals. Malt as well as barley are the most frequently dangerous materials. Look for malt-flavored malted milk, malted syrup, malt vinegar, malt extract, and malted barley flour in the recipe. Gluten-free foods are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). Look for the logo on the box to make sure your meal is gluten-free.
It’s also important to look for labels that say, “may contain trace amounts of gluten.” According to FDA standards, if a product is labeled gluten-free, it has been tested and confirmed to have less than 20ppm of gluten.
Although traditional Kellogg’s corn flakes are wheat-free, they may cause gluten sensitivity in certain people because they contain barley. Kellogg’s has no gluten-free cornflake option available in the United States currently. However, the company says that it may provide further gluten-free options in the future. Gluten-free cornflakes are already available in Australia.

Are Corn Flakes safe for celiac people?

The delicious, golden corn flakes in their packets look and taste exactly like the gluten-free version. Although Kellogg’s Corn Flakes include malt flavoring produced from barley, they are not recommended for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Kellogg’s isn’t the only brand of corn flakes available. There are a lot of options available of corn flakes brands in the market which are gluten-free and suitable for people living with celiac disease. 

Are Corn Flakes a Dairy-Free Cereal?

Which Corn Flakes are gluten free?

When searching for gluten-free corn flake cereal, look for “malt taste” or “barley malt” on the nutrition label. The presence of gluten in the cereal’s formula is explicitly indicated by these words.
Look for an FDA-approved gluten-free label to ensure that the product has been tested and found to have less than 20ppm of gluten.

Nature’s Path Corn Flakes:

This cereal contains organic corn flakes sweetened with grape and pear juices rather than sugar, so it might seem less sweet and look different than the maize flakes you’re used to. According to the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, they are gluten-free, non-GMO, and natural.

Corn Flakes by Erewhon:

These cereals are not straight substitutes for sweet, flavored corn flakes. Attune Foods produces these cereals, which do not contain additional sweetness. Only organic ground maize and sea salt are used to ‘enhance the delicious sweetness of the corn,’ as per the manufacturer. The GFCO has certified the cereal as gluten-free, non-GMO, and organic.

Amazon Flakes by Envirokidz:

These corn flakes are made with organically grown cornmeal and natural cane sugar (as well as other EnviroKidz cereals and other items from Nature’s Path). Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which checks out production facilities, verifies that this cereal is gluten-free.


Many people are unaware that Cheerios is a gluten-free morning cereal. They are fortified with vitamins and minerals, including iron, calcium, and vitamin D, and are made from whole grain oats. They are also inexpensive and convenient. In addition, they are sugar-free and popular with children of all ages.

Cereal Chex:

The Chex brand offers seven gluten-free cereal choices: rice, maize, honey-nut, cinnamon, chocolate, vanilla, and blueberry. Because they are all chemical-free, color-free, flavor-free, and preservative-free, these cereals are popular.

Mesa Sunrise of Natural’s Path:

Mesa Sunrise Corn Flakes* are a crunchy, organic, vegan breakfast cereal made from cornmeal, corn flour, buckwheat flour, quinoa, amaranth, flax seeds, sea salt, and tocopherol. These gluten-free cornflakes are available in Eco Pacs and are crunchy until the last bite. They are low in calories and delicious.

Golden Turmeric Cereal from Natural’s Path:

Certification is provided for Nature’s Path Cereal. In addition to cornmeal, cinnamon, spices, cane sugar, dried coconut, amaranth, quinoa, yellow corn flour, honey, turmeric, sea salt, and cardamom flavoring, this cereal includes amaranth, quinoa, and golden corn flour. This delicious breakfast is packaged in an EnviroBox, made from recyclable paper, and decorated with vegetable-based dyes. Despite the presence of honey, this product is not vegan because it is not vegan

Purple Acai Cereal from Natural’s Path:

These purple acai corn flakes are made with cornmeal, quinoa, amaranth, honey, sea salt, black carrot juice concentrate (anthocyanins), blueberry flavoring, and baobab fruit powder. A healthful and delectable breakfast is created with maqui berries from Chile, acai berries from the Amazon, and baobab fruits from Africa. These corn flakes remain crispy for a longer period in milk.

Corn Flakes by Nestle:

Coeliac U.K. has certified these Nestle Corn Flakes. Amazon sells these kosher corn flakes manufactured in Europe using maize, sugar, vitamins, and minerals. These sweet cereals are light and crunchy. They also offer Go Free Honey Flakes, a version of the classic that includes the same ingredients but contains a sweet flavor due to honey, molasses, and sugar syrup.

Corn Flakes from Barbara’s Bakery:

Barbara’s corn flakes are produced with non-GMO maize, fruit juice extract, and sea salt. It comes with a disclaimer warning that soy, peanuts, almonds, and wheat are used in the product. Despite this, it states that it is gluten-free and has fewer than 20 ppm.

Are Corn Flakes a Dairy-Free Cereal?

Many corn flakes cereals, including Kellogg’s Corn Flakes, are dairy-free. It is a safe option if you also follow a dairy-free diet. Using dairy-free milk to keep your cereal 100% dairy-free.
if you prefer to eat corn flakes for breakfast, i hope you have found the information you need to make an informed choice the next time you are shopping for corn flakes.
There are many alternative brands and options available that taste nearly as good as Kellogg’s corn flakes without gluten, as we know that Kellogg’s corn flakes are not gluten-free.

Can Corn Flakes be an alternative to Breadcrumbs?

There are many uses for corn flakes aside from eating them for breakfast. Let’s see what we can come up with. To create crumbs, put a bag of cornflakes on a rolling pin and roll over them. The sweet, ultra-crunchy flavor of cornflakes makes them an excellent substitute for fried onions or breadcrumbs.
Coarsely smashing them produces a gluten-free, crispy coating for breaded foods. You can also sprinkle mac and cheese or top-stacked veggies like zucchini or mushrooms with them before baking.

Final Words:

Instead of regular cornflakes, the gluten-free alternatives listed above can be stored the same way, kept for the same amount of time, and used as a 1:1 substitute in baking without affecting the result.
The major difference is cross-contaminated or gluten-containing foods are less likely to develop the same sensitivities.
With the help of this article, you can easily choose the best gluten-free corn flakes according to your taste. If you have any ambiguity, you may ask in the comment section below.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.